Skip to content

Day 3: Jeff B., Teacher (Hawthorne)

September 7, 2012

Over the past two years I have been working on my Diploma from SFU in the area of Learning and Teaching in the 21st Century.  In spite of the fact that much of my inquiry over the last two years has been about increasing student engagement in Science, at the end of it all I’ve decided to be a guinea pig and venture out in an entirely new direction.

Instead of Science, I’m focusing on the vital area of Social and Emotional Learning with an emphasis on the “TRIBES” program.

What is TRIBES?  It is a program developed by Jeanne Gibbs that involves the social processes of inclusion, influence and community.  To do this, the class develops four agreements that focus on attentive listening, mutual respect, appreciation/no put downs, and the right to pass.

Why have I chosen this route?  My course work, my classroom experiences and, district initiatives, have helped me to realize that what students need the most is to learn how to communicate and get along with others.  Until students have a safe, inclusive learning environment, they cannot maximize their emotional and academic growth. This year I will spend a great deal of time laying the groundwork to develop what I hope is a highly supportive classroom.

By doing this, I honestly believe I can achieve my goal of making it the best year ever for my students!

Jeff has taught in Delta since 1989 and some would describe him as having a 49 year old body with a 12 year old brain. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2012 5:19 am

    Jeff, the direction your going sounds exciting and all too relevant! We just formed our ”Tribes Agreement” this week. I want to hear more about how it’s going.

  2. Dpenny permalink
    October 1, 2012 3:10 am

    Hey Jeff, I just received the book and read the first 50 pages and there is incredible information and facts about the struggles we face in the classroom. I am hoping to get my Tribe agreements set up as well and create meaningful groups in order for co-operative learning to take place in my classroom. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

