Skip to content

Day 10: Tara Fisher, Teacher (Annieville)

September 19, 2012

“When you know better you do better.” Maya Angelou

This past year has been one of my biggest learning spikes as a teacher since my first year in the classroom. I have been working with other teachers who are at all stages of their teaching careers and we have been focusing on innovative teaching practices within a school-based inquiry.

I have embraced not being the expert, being uncomfortable with not knowing all the answers, and being unsure about how a strategy or a lesson will go. I have found myself increasingly trusting my learners. I am learning like crazy (just like my students) and trying not to burst with excitement! The key has been working with my amazing school staff, along with other dedicated teachers and mentors in our district and throughout the province. I have been collaborating with my colleagues, and I have been implementing new ways of teaching. We are doing wonderful things here in Delta and we need to encourage our colleagues to share their successes with others.

What is working for our students? The success we are realizing has come out of a focus on inquiry. Within this inquiry we have incorporated many innovative teaching practices such as: assessment for learning; access to and use of information technology; collaboration and project-based learning; critical thinking; and being open to change and new ideas. Throughout all of this we have always brought it back to the needs of our learners – our students.

Tara Fisher is an elementary teacher, District Mac Trainer and Inquiry Coordinator. For the past 15 years she has taught upper intermediate at Annieville Elementary.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Mann permalink
    October 6, 2012 5:35 am

    Thanks for sharing Tara. I agree that there is a certain amount of discomfort in not being the “expert” in the classroom and becoming more of a facilitator. That being said, it’s an amazing experience trusting your learners and even co-creating with them. It’s certainly a worthwhile journey!

  2. October 19, 2012 5:14 pm

    Your enthusiasm is contagious – for all of the learners in the system!

Leave a Reply

