Skip to content

Day 19: Carling Brown, Student Teacher (Richardson Elementary)

October 1, 2012

One way I am including Delta’s bold vision into my pedagogy was inspired by a response I received from one my students.

When I asked my class to write down one goal they wanted to achieve one student wrote, “my goal is to save my allowance until I’m 16 so I can donate it to charity.” After reading this, I began to think of ongoing community building and social responsibility projects that engage students’ life-experiences “igniting a lifelong passion for learning.” After reflecting back to this student’s goal I thought– What about a “cultural portfolio”?

The idea behind the cultural portfolio is having students create meaning through discovering a collection of materials authentic to their interests, culture, and community. Materials can include newspaper clippings, photographs, YouTube videos etc.

What do I hope to achieve from this class project?

I hope to inspire students to become more active citizens in their community by introducing themselves to new life issues by collecting artifacts and materials that are important to them. Then, having students ask themselves questions based on their findings, only to have them brainstorm answers.

How does this relate to my students inspiring goal?

I hope to brainstorm answers to these student-invented questions such as community project ideas, that as a class we can get involved in to raise awareness, or provoke change. I want to show students it is easy to become involved in their community in and outside of school and they really do have a voice and a social responsibility that can be heard and seen!

Carling Brown is a student-teacher from SFU in the French PDP module finishing off her long practicum at Richardson Elementary in a grade 5/6 split.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 7:27 pm

    Hi Carling – thanks for sharing your post with us! What I love is how you started this story with the student goal and question. Have you looked into Genius Hour?

  2. Lisa Leblanc permalink
    October 7, 2012 2:55 pm

    I also like the charity related goal, but I think I may be more inspired by the child’s goal to teach the teacher something! I look forward to hearing how your learning is coming along 🙂

Leave a Reply

